Do You Need a Juvenile MVD Attorney in Scottsdale?
A finding of delinquency in Arizona will affect a juvenile’s driver license, even if the offense is not directly related to driving. The Arizona State Legislature has determined that a juvenile’s privilege to drive will be taken away under the following circumstances:
|Minor in Possession of Alcohol (1st Offense) – A.R.S. § 4-244(9)||Court ordered, up to 180 days|
|Minor in Possession of Alcohol (2nd or Subsequent Offenses) – A.R.S. § 4-244(9)||Court ordered, 2 years or until 18th Birthday|
|Minor Drinking & Driving – A.R.S. § 4-244(33)||2 years|
|DUI or Extreme DUI – A.R.S. § 28-1381||2 years|
|Aggravated DUI – A.R.S. § 28-1383||3 years|
|Criminal Damage/Defacing Property – A.R.S. §13-602(A)(1)||Until 18th Birthday|
|Aggravated Criminal Damage – A.R.S. §13-604(A)||Until 18th Birthday|
|Graffiti – A.R.S. §13-1602(A)(5)||Until 18th Birthday|
|Possession of any tools used for Graffiti||Until 18th Birthday|
|Theft – A.R.S. § 13-1802||Until 18th Birthday|
|Theft of Means of Transportation – A.R.S. § 13-1814||Until 18th Birthday|
|Unlawful Use of Means of Transportation – A.R.S. § 13-1803||Until 18th Birthday|
|Drug Offenses – Title 13, Chapter 34||Until 18th Birthday|
Even civil or other criminal traffic offenses will result in penalties for the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD). If the driver is under the age of 18 years, a first violation will result in the driver being ordered to attend Traffic Survival School. A second violation, before the age of 18 years, will result in a 3 month suspension of the driver’s license. A third or subsequent violation, before the age of 18 years, will result in a 6 month suspension of the driver’s license.
Your child’s freedom and future are on the line. Experience counts. Robert is ready to fight to protect your child’s rights. Contact an experienced juvenile defense attorney immediately. Contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, directly by email or by calling 480-860-4321 now for a free initial consultation.