First Time DUI Offense in Arizona: Why You Need a Good Defense

Adult Adoptions
October 22, 2017
Extreme DUI and Aggravated DUI What is The Difference
November 10, 2017
Driving Under The Influence - DUI Attorney

If you are charged with a DUI offense, you need to know what the law is in that particular state. Arizona residents and visitors need to understand things like the blood alcohol content in Arizona, how much jail time they can receive and more. To learn a little bit more about Arizona DUI laws, you should read below and learn the ins and outs. The tips in this article will revolve around people who are first time DUI offenders, so consider these points.

 

#1: Hire a Great DUI lawyer

If you are charged with a DUI in Arizona, you should get in touch with many different DUI lawyers that practice in Arizona to know exactly what you can expect when charged with a DUI.  During your consultation, the attorney should explain the legal process and what the attorney can do for you. Ask about the cost for legal representation and payment options, so that you know that you’re able to afford a private attorney. Make sure we are comfortable with the attorney.  Will this attorney be handling your case or will the case be handed off to someone else?  Be sure the attorney will be available to answer all your questions when you have them.  Communication with your attorney is the up-most importance.

 

#2: Understand Arizona DUI laws

Each and every state has its own DUI laws, so as an Arizona resident or visitor that was charged, you need to learn as much as you can about how they handle these particular cases. Start by understanding the blood-alcohol content limits and the sentencing ramifications.  Also learn want this will do to your driver’s license and insurance rates. The effects of a DUI are quite onerous

 

#3: Be ready for the process

Since this is your first time being charged with a DUI, you need to do everything that you can to make sure that you are ready for the process and assist your attorney in the process. Get ready to appear in court and have your attorney fight and negotiate for you. This is why it is so important to hire a great lawyer, because you will be leaning on them and trusting them for a lot of the work that they do. Patience and knowledge of the process will go a long way toward helping you out during this time.

 

Some of the Fines, Costs and Penalties Associated With a First Time DUI Misdemeanor:

  • Up to $2500 in fines for the first offense
  • Screen tests and counseling classes up to $500
  • May need an ignition interlock device installation up to $1,200
  • Possible requirement to purchase SR-22 insurance – up to $3,000/year in additional insurance costs and maintain for 1-3 years
  • Driver’s license suspension of anywhere between 90 to 360 days
  • Possible probation
  • Possible community service hours
  • Possible jail time 1 Day to 6 Months
  • Getting charged with a second DUI or multiple DUI offenses, these fines and penalties become significantly harsher

 

These three tips outline exactly what you can expect from your first DUI if you are a resident or visitor to the State of Arizona. This is a great starting point that you should keep in mind so that you are able to make the most out of your case and get the proper DUI defense representation that you need. To make sure that this happens, follow these points the best that you can and be patient throughout the rest of the legal process.

These charges are very serious. You may be facing a misdemeanor DUI or a felony DUI depending on several factors during the DUI arrest. I can help you through this crisis. I personally answers my own phone and will personally handle your case. Contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, directly by email or by calling 480-860-4321 now for a free initial consultation.

 

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney At Law
10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103
Scottsdale, AZ 85260
(480) 860-4321